Sheriff's Office

Browse Sheriff

Featured Topics

Online Services



Community Policing

Recognizing that a significant amount of law enforcement response is reactive in nature, the administration of the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office has consistently moved in the direction of community-oriented policing. Our goal is to work directly with local elected officials, schools, courts, businesses and community leaders to identify specific areas of need and develop strategies to address those needs. We believe that the proactive measures involved in community policing concepts have a direct impact on the reactive actions required of law enforcement. Community-oriented policing has proven to be a valuable tool in dealing with the rapid growth occurring within Ottawa County.

Cooperative efforts between local units of government, school districts, and the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Office have lead to many successful Federal grant awards over the years, such as the Department of Justice “COPS” Grant. These programs have provided much of the initial financial foundation for the growth of community policing in Ottawa County. Continued support and partnerships by local units of government, schools, and the county have made community-oriented policing a stable, effective method of proactive law enforcement within Ottawa County.

Community policing deputies are a visible presence in the communities they serve. In addition to actively participating in community events, the deputies work closely with local units of government, schools, and courts on issues specific to that particular entity. Listed below are some examples of the various Community Policing Programs and activities in which deputies participate.

  • Crime Free Multi-Housing Programs
  • Zoning Ordinance Enforcement
  • Bicycle Patrols
  • Child Passenger Safety Education
  • Neighborhood Watch
  • Bicycle/Helmet Safety Education
  • Hunter Safety Instruction
  • Boating Safety Instruction
  • Senior Citizen Issues/Presentations
  • Business Interests/Presentations
  • Bicycle Registration Programs
  • Quality of Life Issues
  • Traffic Control-Selective Enforcement
  • Vacation Property Watch

In addition to the programs listed, deputies also focus their efforts on temporary problem solving, such as traffic enforcement in a newly created construction zone, follow-up on school bus violations, and enforcement of sex offender registration laws. Finally, all community policing deputies carry a criminal investigation caseload as a part of their obligation to the community they serve.

Deputies assigned to township or city community policing positions are as follows:

Allendale Township
Sgt.Chris Dill
Deputy John Ortman
Deputy Andrew Riley

Coopersville City
Sgt. Dennis Luce
Deputy Valerie Beemer
Deputy Dan Lewkowski
Deputy Shane Ryke
Deputy Forrest Sabo
Deputy James Boutwell

Georgetown Township
Sgt. Jeff Steigenga
Deputy Brad Bennett
Deputy Nick Knott
Deputy Jim Scholma
Deputy Eric Smith
Deputy Brandon Tubergan
Deputy Brian Tucker

Grand Haven Township
Sgt. Derek Gerencer
Deputy Jeff Somers
Deputy Ryan DeVries
Deputy Chris Reuwer
Deputy Chris Todd

Holland Township
Sgt. Brent Converse
Deputy Tony Boersema
Deputy Garry Fox
Deputy Joe Michmerhuizen
Deputy Erick Porter
Deputy Stacy Scholten
Deputy Michael VandenBosch
Deputy Kristina Workman

Hudsonville City
Sgt. Mike Bagladi
Deputy Chad Klaver
Deputy Jon Knott
Deputy Mike Petroelje
Deputy Mark Sheren
Deputy Cassie Tolman

Jamestown Township
Sgt. Derek Gerencer
Deputy Adam VanDis

Park Township
Sgt. Brent Converse
Deputy Michael Dewitt
Deputy Garry Fox
Deputy Michael VandenBosch
Deputy Kristina Workman

Polkton, Chester &Tallmadge Twps
Sgt. Dennis Luce
Deputy Allison Anderson

Port Sheldon Township
Sgt. Derek Gerencer
Deputy Michael Veldkamp

Spring Lake Township
Sgt. Derek Gerencer
Deputy Travis Babcock
Deputy Jon Smoes

Spring Lake Village/Ferrysburg City
Sgt. Jason Kik
Deputy Corey Allard
Deputy James Dyer
Deputy Jacob MacKeller
Deputy Anthony Stariha
Deputy Joe Steinhauer
Deputy Sean Turbett
Deputy Ramon Soto-Lopez

Zeeland Township
Sgt. Derek Gerencer
Deputy Ryan Huizenga


Steve Kempker

  • Steve Kempker
Valerie Weiss

  • Valerie Weiss


  • 12220 Fillmore Street
    West Olive, MI 49460
  • Phone: (616) 738-4000
    FAX: (616) 738-4062
  • In Ottawa County:
    (888) 731-1001
  • Monday - Friday:
    8:00am - 5:00pm

County Jail

  • 12130 Fillmore Street
    West Olive, MI 49460
  • Phone: (616) 786-4140
  • Monday - Friday:
    8:00am - 5:00pm

Customer Service Survey